Skip to main content

Success Stories

Newton Seniors Named CTE Scholars Posted 4/17/18

Twelve Newton Career & Technical Education students are among fifty-eight Kansas high school seniors that have been named 2018 CTE Scholars, the Kansas State Department of Education announced Tuesday, April 17, 2018.

CTE scholars from Newton are:

Kaylee Anderson, Erica Beebe, Skylar Botterweck, Tanner Duerksen, Ryan Hirsh, Kathryn (Kit) Kingsley, Lauren Mitchell, Kaitlyn Serrano, Kailei Sidebottom,  Eleanor St. Peter, Verania Torres and Brian Wolfe.

The Kansas CTE Scholar program is an opportunity to recognize well-rounded outstanding CTE students who are finishing their senior year of high school. This is the second year for the initiative.

Students have to be a high school senior and meet the following criteria to be selected as a scholar:

  • Have earned or presently enrolled in 3.0 or more CTE credits.
  • Provide documentation of technical skill attainment.
  • Have a CTE Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.5 or better in CTE coursework.
  • Demonstrated leadership.
  • Demonstrated community engagement.
  • Have professional learning experiences.
  • Provide a career vision summary statement.

Scholars will receive a commemorative pin, special certificate and statewide recognition.

Here are some highlights from the 2017-18 school:

The following certifications were awarded to CTE students:

  • 12 – AWS - (welding): 1 NHS, 5 Area, 6 HCC
  • 25 – CNA: 23 NHS; 2 Area
  • 10  – NIMS (machining): 2 NHS, 3 Area, 5 HCC
  • 30 – ServSafe Food Handlers
  • 48 – WorkKeys
  • 7 – cPass (2 Plant Science and 5 Animal Science)
  • 16 - Word Microsoft Office Specialists
  • 27 - PowerPoint Microsoft Office Specialists
  • 3 - Excel Microsoft Office Specialists
  • 6 - ASE Refrigerant Recovery & Recycling
  • 9 - First Aid
  • 226 - CPR
  • 23 - OSHA

Robotics Lego Camp
Approximately 18 elementary students attending the summer Lego camp hosted by the Robotics team.

CTE Scholars Honored
12 senior students were awarded the KSDE CTE Scholar award. There were 58 students across the state who earned this distinction.

Engineering College Credit
5 students in the Engineering Design and Development class took advantage of the college credit partnership with Wichita State University. Students earned 3 hours of credit that will transfer into the WSU Engineering program.




17 business students were inducted into the National Business Honor Society at a special ceremony


Auto students placed at the Pratt Olympics competition.